NAME [Toc] [Back]
shutdown - terminate all processing
SYNOPSIS [Toc] [Back]
/sbin/shutdown [-h|-r] [-y] [-o] [grace]
/sbin/shutdown -R [-H] [-y] [-o] [grace]
DESCRIPTION [Toc] [Back]
The shutdown command is part of the HP-UX system operation procedures.
Its primary function is to terminate all currently running processes
in an orderly and cautious manner. shutdown can be used to put the
system in single-user mode for administrative purposes such as backup
or file system consistency checks (see fsck(1M)), to halt or reboot
the system, or to make the partition ready for reconfiguration. By
default, shutdown is an interactive program.
Options and Arguments [Toc] [Back]
shutdown recognizes the following options and arguments.
-h Shut down the system and halt.
-r Shut down the system and reboot automatically.
-R Shut down the system to a ready-to-reconfigure state
and reboot if possible. If the partition is unable to
reboot, it will stop at a ready-to-reconfigure state.
However, if the -H option is also specified, the system
will always stop at ready-to-reconfigure state. This
option is available only on systems that support
-H Shut down the system to a ready-to-reconfigure state
and do not reboot. This option can be used only in
combination with the -R option. This option is
available only on systems that support hardware
-y Do not require any interactive responses from the user.
(Respond yes or no as appropriate to all questions,
such that the user does not interact with the shutdown
-o When executed on the cluster server in a diskless
cluster environment, shutdown the server only and do
not reboot clients. If this argument is not entered
the default behavior is to reboot all clients when the
server is shutdown.
grace Either a decimal integer that specifies the duration in
seconds of a grace period for users to log off before
Hewlett-Packard Company - 1 - HP-UX 11i Version 2: Sep 2004
the system shuts down, or the word now. The default is
60. If grace is either 0 or now, shutdown runs more
quickly, giving users very little time to log out.
If -r (reboot) or -h (halt) or -R (reconfigure) are not specified,
standalone and server systems are placed in single-user state. Either
-r (reboot) or -h (halt) must be specified for a client; shutdown to
single-user state is not allowed for a client. See init(1M).
Shutdown Procedure [Toc] [Back]
shutdown goes through the following steps:
+ The PATH environment variable is reset to
+ The IFS environment variable is reset to space, tab, newline.
+ The user is checked for authorization to execute the shutdown
command. Only authorized users can execute the shutdown
command. See FILES for more information on the
/etc/shutdown.allow authorization file.
+ The current working directory is changed to the root directory
+ All file systems' super blocks are updated; see sync(1M).
This must be done before rebooting the system to ensure file
+ The real user ID is set to that of the superuser.
+ A broadcast message is sent to all users currently logged in
on the system telling them to log out. The administrator can
specify a message at this time; otherwise, a standard warning
message is displayed.
+ The next step depends on whether a system is standalone, a
server, or a client.
+ If the system is standalone, /sbin/rc is executed to shut
down subsystems, unmount file systems, and perform other
tasks to bring the system to run level 0.
+ If the system is a server, the optional -o argument is used
to determine if all clients in the cluster should also be
rebooted. The default behavior (command-line parameter -o
is not entered) is to reboot all clients using
/sbin/reboot; entering -o results in the server only being
rebooted and the clients being left alone. Then /sbin/rc
is executed to shut down subsystems, unmount file systems,
and perform other tasks to bring the system to run level 0.
Hewlett-Packard Company - 2 - HP-UX 11i Version 2: Sep 2004
+ If the system is a client, /sbin/rc is executed to bring
the system down to run-level 2, and then /sbin/reboot is
executed. Shutdown to the single-user state is not an
allowed option for clients.
+ The system is rebooted, halted, or put in the ready-toreconfigure
state by executing /sbin/reboot if the -h or -r or
-R option was chosen. If the system was not a cluster client
and the system was being brought down to single-user state, a
signal is sent to the init process to change states (see
DIAGNOSTICS [Toc] [Back]
This is the most commonly encountered error diagnostic, and
happens when a particular file system could not be unmounted; see
user not allowed to shut down this system
User is not authorized to shut down the system. User and system
must both be included in the authorization file
EXAMPLES [Toc] [Back]
Immediately reboot the system and run HP-UX again:
shutdown -r 0
Halt the system in 5 minutes (300 seconds) with no interactive
questions and answers:
shutdown -h -y 300
Go to run-level s in 10 minutes:
Immediately shut down a partition so that it can be deleted:
shutdown -R -H 0
Reboot a partition in 5 minutes so that new cells that have been
assigned to the partition become active:
shutdown -R 300
WARNINGS [Toc] [Back]
The user name compared with the entry in the shutdown.allow file is
obtained using getpwuid() (see getpwent(3C)).
Hewlett-Packard Company - 3 - HP-UX 11i Version 2: Sep 2004
The hostname in /etc/shutdown.allow is compared with the hostname
obtained using gethostbyname() (see gethostent(3N)).
shutdown must be executed from a directory on the root volume, such as
the / directory.
The maximum broadcast message that can be sent is approximately 970
When executing shutdown on an NFS diskless cluster server and the -o
option is not entered, clients of the server will be rebooted. No
clients should be individually rebooted or shutdown while the cluster
is being shutdown.
If the -R option is used in a virtual partition environment on a
partitionable system, then the requested reconfiguration will not take
place until all the virtual partitions on that hard partition are shut
down and the virtual partition monitor is rebooted.
FILES [Toc] [Back]
The file contains lines that consist of a system host name
and the login name of a user who is authorized to reboot or
halt the system. A superuser's login name must be included
in this file in order to execute shutdown. However, if the
file is missing or of zero length, the root user can run the
shutdown program to bring the system down.
This file does not affect authorization to bring the system
down to single-user state for maintenance purposes; that
operation is permitted only when invoked by a superuser.
A comment character, #, at the beginning of a line causes
the rest of the line to be ignored (comments cannot span
multiple lines without additional comment characters).
Blank lines are also ignored.
The wildcard character + can be used in place of a host name
or a user name to specify all hosts or all users,
respectively (see hosts.equiv(4)).
# user1 can shut down systemA and systemB
# root can shut down any system
Hewlett-Packard Company - 4 - HP-UX 11i Version 2: Sep 2004
# Any user can shut down systemC
SEE ALSO [Toc] [Back]
fsck(1M), init(1M), killall(1M), mount(1M), reboot(1M), sync(1M),
gethostent(3N), getpwent(3C), hosts.equiv(4).
For more information about shutdowns and reboots on Superdome systems,
see the manual, Managing Superdome Complexes: A Guide for System
Administrators, available on the web at http://docs.hp.com.
Hewlett-Packard Company - 5 - HP-UX 11i Version 2: Sep 2004 [ Back ]