deluser, delgroup - remove a user or group from the system
deluser [options] [--remove-home] [--remove-all-files] [--backup] user
deluser --group [options] group
delgroup [options] group
deluser [options] user group
COMMON OPTIONS [Toc] [Back]
[--quiet] [--help] [--version] [--conf FILE]
deluser and delgroup remove users and groups from the system according
to command line options and configuration information in
/etc/deluser.conf. They are friendlier front ends to the userdel and
groupdel programs, removing the home directory as option or even all
files on the system owned by the user to be removed, running a custom
script, and other features. deluser and delgroup can be run in one of
Remove a normal user [Toc] [Back]
If called with one non-option argument and without the --group
options, deluser will remove a normal user.
By default, deluser will remove the user without removing the home
directory, the mail spool or any other files on the system owned by
the user. Removing the home directory and mail spool can be archieved
using the --remove-home option and removing all files on the system
owned by the user by the --remove-all-files option. Note that if you
activate both options --remove-home will have no effect because all
files including the home directory and mail spool are already covered
by the --remove-all-files option.
If you want to backup all files before deleting them you can activate
the --backup option which will create a file username.tar(.gz|.bz2) in
your current working directory. Both the remove and backup options can
also be activated for default in the configuration file
/etc/deluser.conf. See deluser.conf(5) for details.
If the file /usr/local/sbin/deluser.local exists, it will be executed
after the user account has been removed in order to do any local setup.
The arguments passed to deluser.local are:
username uid gid home-directory
Remove a system group [Toc] [Back]
If deluser is called with the --group option, or delgroup is called, a
system group will be removed.
Warning: If any users have the group to be removed as primary group the
group cannot be removed.
Remove an user from a specific group [Toc] [Back]
If called with two non-option arguments, deluser will remove an user
from a specific group.
Use FILE instead of /etc/deluser.conf.
Remove a group. This is the default action if the program is
invoked as delgroup.
--help Display brief instructions.
Suppress progress messages.
Display version and copyright information.
deluser.conf(5), adduser(8), userdel(8), groupdel(8)
Copyright (C) 2000 Roland Bauerschmidt. This manpage and the deluser
program is based on adduser which is:
Copyright (C) 1997, 1998, 1999 Guy Maor.
Copyright (C) 1995 Ted Hajek, with a great deal borrowed from the original
Copyright (C) 1994 Ian Murdock. deluser is free software; see the GNU
General Public Licence version 2 or later for copying conditions.
There is no warranty.
Debian GNU/Linux Version 3.47 DELUSER(8)
[ Back ]